New Delhi: At least 19 opposition parties including Congress and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) have decided to boycott the inauguration of the new Parliament building in Delhi.

The opposition parties informed about this boycott in a joint statement on Wednesday.

“When the soul of democracy has been pulled from Parliament, we do not see any value in the new building,” it said. “We have invited everyone. We want everyone to participate in this program.”

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will inaugurate the new Parliament building on May 28. The opposition is angry about this. Opposition leaders say that the Parliament building should be inaugurated by the President. Rahul Gandhi and Mallikarjun Kharge have already demanded that President Draupadi Murmu inaugurate the event.

Meanwhile, Congress, Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Trinamool Congress, Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK), Left, Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), Janata Dal-United (JDU), Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Samajwadi Party, Uddhav Thackeray’s Shiv Sena (UBT) and other parties on Wednesday said they will not be part of the inauguration ceremony of the new Parliament building. Asaduddin Owaisi’s All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) has also boycotted the inauguration ceremony of the new Parliament building.

Leave a Reply