New Delhi: The Central Election Commission has given national party status to Arvind Kejriwal’s Aam Aadmi Party (AAP).

The Election Commission on Monday said that Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress (TMC), Sharad Pawar’s NCP and CPI have lost their national level status. After the defeat in the northeastern states, the NCP has lost its national party status.

The commission said the AAP has been given national party status on the basis of its electoral performance in four states – Delhi, Goa, Punjab and Gujarat.

BJP, Congress, Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), National People’s Party (NPP) and AAP are now national parties.

The Lok Janshakti Party (Ram Vilas Paswan) has got the status of a state-level party in Nagaland. Trinamool Congress will continue to have state-level party status in Bengal and Tripura. Tipra Motha Party has been recognised as a state party in Tripura.

The BRS has been invalidated as a state party in Andhra Pradesh. The Election Commission of India has withdrawn the status of Rashtriya Lok Dal as a state party in Uttar Pradesh. The Revolutionary Socialist Party was invalidated as a state party in West Bengal. In Meghalaya, the Voice of the People party was recognised as a state-level party.

Leave a Reply