New Delhi: Counting of votes for assembly elections 2023 is underway in three northeastern states of Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland in February. According to the latest information so far, the BJP is set to return to power in Tripura and NDPP (BJP alliance) in Nagaland is almost certain.

Meanwhile, no party has got a majority in Meghalaya. In such a situation, Meghalaya CM Conrad Sangma has offered BJP to form a coalition government. Sangma has called up Home Minister Amit Shah and sought his support to form the government.

Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma tweeted, “BJP National President JP Nadda has advised the state unit of BJP to support the National People’s Party (NNP) in forming the next government in Meghalaya.”

Meanwhile, Prime Minister Narendra Modi has tweeted on BJP’s victory in Tripura-Nagaland. “Heartfelt thanks to Tripura. This is a vote for stability and development. BJP will continue to work for development in Tripura. I am proud of all the workers.”

According to the Election Commission, the BJP has won 18 seats in Tripura. The BJP is leading in 15 seats. At the same time, CPI (M) has won 2 seats. While leading on 9. Congress is ahead in 3 seats. While Tipra Motha Party has won 8 seats. Leading on four.

Tripura Chief Minister Manik Saha has won the Bardowali town seat. The BJP has contested the election on the face of Manik Saha in Tripura this time.

Conrad Sangma in Meghalaya won the South Tura (ST) seat in West Garo Hills and Neiphiu Rio in Nagaland won the Northern Angami II (ST) seat in Kohima.

Leave a Reply