New Delhi: Although BJP had to face defeat in front of the AAP in the Delhi MCD elections but it has decided to contest the Delhi Mayoral election.

BJP announced candidates for the Delhi Mayoral elections. The BJP has fielded Rekha Gupta for the mayoral post, while Kamal Bagri has been named as the deputy mayoral candidate.

BJP councillor Rekha Gupta from Shalimar Bagh has been elected for the mayor’s post, while Kamal Bagri of Ram Nagar ward will contest for the post of deputy mayor.

The Aam Aadmi Party, which has the highest number of councillors, has chosen Shaili Oberoi as its mayoral candidate, while Ale Mohammad Iqbal has been named in the race for the deputy mayor’s post. Shelly Oberoi is a councillor from East Patel Nagar and Mohammad Iqbal from Chandni Mahal.

AAP won 134 of the 250 seats in the December 4 municipal corporation elections, ending the BJP’s 15-year rule. The BJP came second with 104 seats. BJP IT cell chief Amit Malviya had tweeted a few days ago that now it is time to elect the Mayor of Delhi. It will all depend on who keeps how many numbers in the competition. Whom do nominated councillors vote for? Chandigarh, for instance, has a BJP mayor.

Leave a Reply