Ottawa: Canada and the United States have agreed to apply the Safe Third Country Agreement in order to address irregular migration. 

In a joint statement issued by the both countries, the Safe Third Country Agreement will be applied between official ports of entry, along the entire Canada-United States border. 

Canada has also decided to welcome 15,000 migrants on a humanitarian basis from the Western Hemisphere over the course of the year as an alternative to irregular migration.

While addressing a joint press conference with Joe Biden, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau announced that both countries will now apply the Safe Third Country Agreement to asylum seekers who cross between official points of entry.  

“After midnight tonight, police and border officers will enforce the agreement and return irregular border crossers to the closest port of entry with the United States,” Trudeau said.  

Leave a Reply