Victoria: B.C.’s two newest MLAs were sworn in at a ceremony in the Legislature on Friday after winning provincial byelections in Vancouver and Greater Victoria last month.

Both Joan Phillip and Ravi Parmar represent the New Democrats, with Parmar capturing the Langford-Juan de Fuca riding to replace former premier John Horgan, while Phillip, a Penticton Indian Band member, easily took the Vancouver-Mount Pleasant riding.

A statement from the First Nations Leadership Council said the election of Phillip is “another milestone” in the fight for First Nations voices at the highest levels of the government. 

Phillip replaced Indigenous member and former cabinet minister Melanie Mark, who resigned. — Canadian Press 

Leave a Reply