New Delhi: Voting for the Karnataka Assembly elections began at 7 am. A total of 2,614 candidates are in the fray for 224 seats. A large number of people are reaching polling stations in all districts of Karnataka since morning to cast their votes. Till 5 pm, 65.69% votes have been cast.

Meanwhile, there have been violent incidents in at least three places during voting in Karnataka. Some EVMs and VVPAT machines were vandalised by people in Basavana Bagewadi taluk of Vijayapura district, police said.

They also damaged the vehicles of polling officials. There were rumors that the officials were manipulating voting by changing machines.

The second incident took place at the Papaiah Garden polling booth in Padmanabha assembly where some youths armed with sticks attacked their opponents. Some women who came to vote were also injured in this attack.

The third incident took place at Sanjeevarayanakote in Bellary district, where a scuffle broke out between Congress and a BJP workers.

Leave a Reply