Ottawa: Prime Minister Justin Trudeau is expected to shuffle his cabinet on Wednesday. 

According to sources, several current faces will not be part of the government after the shuffle. 

The Prime Minister has not done a major shuffle since 2021. 

Amid news of change in ministers’ portfolios, several current Cabinet members have announced that they will not seek re-election when the next federal elections happen.  

On Tuesday, Fisheries Minister Joyce Murray, Transport Minister Omar Alghabra and Public Services Minister Helena Jaczek decided not to run in the next elections. 

Mental Health and Addictions Minister Carolyn Bennett on Monday during an event said that she has already apprised the Prime Minister of her decision of not seeking re-election. 

Member Parliament from Vancouver-Quadra riding, Joyce Murray wrote on Twitter, “After much thought and reflection, I have decided not to run again in the next election after my current term.”

Similarly, Helena Jaczek took to Twitter and said, “After 50 years of public service as a family doctor, Regional Medical Of Health and Commissioner of Health Services, Member of Provincial Parliament, and now Member of Parliament for Markham-Stouffville, I have decided that I will not seek re-election after my current term.” 

Transport Minister Omar Alghbara posted a video on social media and made his decision public. He announced that he is stepping aside from the Cabinet.

Leave a Reply