Chandigarh: Bharatiya Kisan Union Ekta Ugrahan has announced to close all tolls in Punjab on January 5. All these tolls will be closed from 12 noon to 3 pm. BKU Ekta Ugrahan has taken this decision by agreeing to the demand letter of the Kisan-Mazdoor Sangharsh Committee.

BKU Ekta Ugrahan state secretary Shingara Singh Mann said that 18 tolls of Punjab have already been made free till January 15 by the Kisan-Mazdoor Sangharsh Committee. The Mann government of Punjab has also become in favor of corporate houses like the central government and previous governments.

Agreeing to the demands on which the Kisan-Mazdoor Sangharsh Committee is fighting, all tolls in Punjab will be made free.

In the sit-in protest being held at these tolls, BKU Ekta Ugrahan has appealed to the farmers to come in large numbers so that the demands of the farmer-labor struggle can be strongly supported.

Earlier, these 18 toll plazas were closed

Amritsar: Katthunangal, Mananwala and Attari toll plazas.

Pathankot: Dinanagar toll plaza.

Kapurthala: Dhilwan Toll Plaza.

Moga: Baghapurana Toll Plaza.

Tarn Taran: Usma, Manan Toll Plaza.

Hoshiarpur: Mukerian, Chilang, Chabbewal, Mansar and Gaddiwala toll plazas.

Ferozepur: Gidderpindi and Ferozeshah toll plazas.

Jalandhar: Chakbahamian Toll Plaza.

Fazilka: The Kalandar and Mamojae toll plazas

Major demands of farmers

The Kisan-Mazdoor Sangharsh Committee is protesting against the Punjab government. The farmers’ organisation has been demanding the state government to waive farm loans, remunerative prices for crops and fulfilment of various demands, including compensation for crop damage.

Leave a Reply