Ottawa: Prime Minister Justin Trudeau on Wednesday announced the Canadian delegation that will take part in the coronation of Canada’s new monarch, King Charles III. 

According to the press release issued by the Prime Minister’s Office (PMO), Justin Trudeau, along with his wife Sophie Gregoire Trudeau, and Canada’s Governor General Mary Simon and White Fraser will travel to the United Kingdom on May 6.   

Assembly of First Nations National Chief RoseAnne Archibald, president of Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami Natan Obed, and president of the Métis National Council Cassidy Caron will be of the delegation. 

Canada’s delegation will also include young leaders such as Sarah Mazhero of the Prime Minister’s Youth Council, CEO of Young Diplomats of Canada Christina Caouette, founder of Halifax Helpers Rebeccah Raphael, president of the French-Canadian Youth Federation Marguerite Tölgyesi, and Maryam Tsegaye, winner of the global science competition Breakthrough Junior Challenge. 

 Astronaut Jennifer Sidey-Gibbons and astronaut Jeremy Hansen, who will travel to the moon next year as part of the Artemis II mission, will also travel with the delegation.  

The Prime Minister also announced the government will award 30,000 Coronation medals to Canadians who have made significant contributions to the country, a province, territory, region or community, or an achievement abroad that brings credit to Canada. 

Leave a Reply