Chandigarh, October 1:


Punjab Sports and Youth Services Minister Rana Gurmit Singh Sodhi today laid the foundation stone for the upgradation of Sri Guru Ram Dass Sports Stadium at Guru Harsahai (Ferozpur), where modern sports facilities would be provided to the sports persons at a cost of Rs. 8 crore.


Addressing the brief gathering, Rana Sodhi informed that the sports stadium would be upgraded with more than Rs.8 crore, with which a 400 meter athletic track, 6 lane synthetic track, new pavilion blocks, modern gym and play grounds would be constructed and state-of-the-art sports facilities would be provided to the players of the region.


“State government is continuously making vigorous efforts to promote sports in the state and provide better sports amenities to sportspersons. Construction of new sports stadiums and up-gradation of the existing stadiums in rural and urban areas are being carried out on a war footing”, he added.


Cabinet Minister further said, fulfilling the long-pending demand of hockey lovers, the state government on the birth anniversary of Shaheed-e-Azam Sardar Bhagat Singh, has announced hockey Astroturf at Ferozepur with Rs.5.5 crore, adding that district Ferozepur was known as the nursery and the stronghold of the hockey as this soil has produced hundreds of hockey players as well as hockey Olympians. He said that the laying of Astroturf would be of great benefit not only to the Ferozepur region but also to the nearby districts.


The sports minister said that every possible effort to promote sports and produce national and international level players was being made by the state sports department. Hence, the state government has increased award money besides providing government jobs to sports persons of national and international repute. “The Punjab government was fully committed to ensure high-end sports infrastructure in the state”, he added.


Deputy Commissioner Mr. Gurpal Singh Chahal, Senior Congress Leader Mr. Anumit Singh Hira Sodhi, SDM Mr. Parminder Singh Arora, Sports Department Executive Engineer Mr. Sanjay Mahajan, District Sports Officer Mr. Sunil Sharma, Tehsildar Ms. Neelam, Mr. Gurdeep Singh Dhillon, Mr. Amritpal Singh, Mr. Naseeb Singh Sandhu, Mr. Davinder Jung, Market Committee Chairman Mr. Ved Prakash, Arhatiya Association President Mr. Ravi Sharma, Mr. Angrej Singh, Mr. Balkar Singh, Mr. Vicky Sandhu, Block Samiti Chairman Mr. Sohan Singh, Mr. Nachhatar Singh, Mr. Kuldeep Dhawan and others were also present.

Leave a Reply