Ottawa: Canada slapped new sanctions on Russian Friday after President Vladimir Putin formally annexation of the Ukrainian territories of Donetsk, Luhansk, Kherson and Zaporizhzhia.

Mélanie Joly, Minister of Foreign Affairs announced that Canada is imposing further sanctions against Russia’s unprovoked and unjustifiable invasion of Ukraine.

She said that egregious violations of international law are based on the imperial notion that his regime can redraw the map as it pleases.

The annexation comes after voting was held in the four occupied regions from September 23 to 27.

Reacting to this, the Canadian minister said that the vote in Russia’s Federal Assembly to integrate Ukraine’s territories is an attempt to formalize President Putin’s conquest through political theatre. This sham process will not alter Canada’s position. Borders will not change. Ukraine’s territory will remain Ukraine’s.

Leave a Reply