Ottawa: The Prime Minister, Justin Trudeau, has made some significant changes in his Cabinet. 

Several ministers have not been retained while others’ portfolios have been changed. In this shuffle, seven new faces have been named in the Cabinet.   

Anita Anand, who led Canada’s response after Russia invaded Ukraine, has been appointed president of the Treasury Board, while Bill Blair is the new defence minister of Canada. 

On Wednesday, Dominic LeBlanc was named the public safety minister while Sean Fraser was appointed housing minister. 

Marc Miller has been appointed as the immigration minister. Arif Virani is a new face in the Trudeau cabinet, who has replaced David Lametti as justice minister.  

Mark Holland is the new health minister while Jean-Yves Duclos is the new public services and procurement minister. 

Pablo Rodriguez has replaced Omar Alghbra as new transport minister. Former sports minister Pascale St. Onge has been named as heritage minister.  

From British Columbia, four MPs have been added to the federal Cabinet. Minister of Pacific Economy Agency of Canada Harjit Sajjan is new president of King’s Privy Council. Besides, he has been given the emergency preparedness portfolio. 

Metro Vancouver-area MPs Carla Qualtorugh has been appointed as sports minister, while Jonathan Wilkinson is emergency and natural resources minister. 

From British Columbia, Terry Beech is another new face in the Cabinet, who will look after the Citizen’s Service portfolio.

Leave a Reply